Bay of Fundy named one of Seven Natural Wonders of North America

On February 28, 2014, the Seven Natural Wonders of North America were officially declared in Irving, Texas. These wonders of nature were determined by insights from experts from around the world with a key focus on conservationists such as members of the International Union for Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources.

The advisory committee for the Seven Natural Wonders includes 42 world famous geographers, nature photographers, conservationists, and nature tourism experts. It includes the director of the Smithsonian Institute’s museum of natural history, the president of Audubon, vice president of conservation and exploration for National Geographic, directors of the IUCN, and numerous others.

The list incudes the most unique and famous natural landscapes on the continent. Many of them are national parks and attract millions of visitors each year. They include:

  • The Bay of Fundy,
  • The Grand Canyon,
  • Yellowstone National Park,
  • Redwood National Forest,
  • Everglades National Park,
  • Yosemite National Park, and
  • Mount McKinley.

The Bay of Fundy was selected for its enormous tides that create tidal bores, rips tides, and vast tidal flats. The Bay of Fundy is also known for its incredibly diverse and dramatic coastline created by tidal erosion and marine habitat created by the constant movement of the tides.

Seven Natural Wonders is a global, grassroots endeavor committed to protecting the natural wonders of the world. The mission is to help people discover and explore the natural wonders of the world, to teach them about the wonders and the things that threaten their existence, and to inspire them to create a philosophy and practice of conservation.