Bay of Fundy — one of North America’s 7 Wonders

North America’s seven wonders of nature were formally designated in February, 2014, by a panel of international experts. The Bay of Fundy shares this unique status with esteemed company including the Grand Canyon, Niagara Falls and the everglades.

The seven wonders were declared by a committee of 42 leading authorities including world-renowned naturalists, nature photographers and top nature journalists. Their mission is to help people discover and explore the natural wonders of the world, to teach them about the wonders and the things that threaten their existence, and to inspire them to create a philosophy and practice of conservation.

The seven wonders of North America are:

The Bay of Fundy

The Bay of Fundy has the highest tidal range in the world. The huge tides which at low tide, strand fishing boats, have in some places carved the coastline into sculptured islands and rock columns.

The Grand Canyon


Niagara Falls

Yosemite National Park

The Everglades

Mount McKinley